T1D Buddy Biographies

Alison D.

Location: Toronto, ON
Areas of Study: Biochemistry & Radiation Therapy
Years Living with Diabetes: 20 years

Hobbies/Interests: I love playing card, board, video, lawn, and pretty much any game, nature walks, watching movies/tv, sewing/quilting.

Statement: I’ve definitely had highs and lows living with diabetes, as I’m sure we all have for many unique reasons! Despite that, we all try to keep calm, carry on and learn from our mistakes along the way. The DHF community has been a great resource for me to normalize and validate my experiences with diabetes and I hope to extend that resource to you by being a mentor. Besides my interests listed above, I’m a science nerd, foodie, and doting cat-mom. Looking forward to meeting you!

Ethan

Location: Mississauga, ON
Areas of Study: Health Sciences
Years Living with Diabetes: 6 years

Hobbies/Interests: Soccer, weight lifting, DJ’ing, running, traveling, music and
photography.

Statement: I’m 18 years old, and currently in my first year at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario. I believe this program is a great way to meet new people, and an amazing source of support to navigate the ups and downs of managing diabetes. Looking forward to meeting you!

Genevieve

Location: London, ON
Areas of Study: Biomedical Engineering, Molecular Biology & Genetics
Years Living with Diabetes: 20 years

Hobbies/Interests: Reading, hiking, yoga, canoeing, and playing with my dog.

Statement: I love curling up with a good book, and the Night Circus and Lord of the Rings are probably my favourites. I love going for hikes and playing with my dog (Zelda), but don’t do yoga nearly as much as I should! While I try to keep my sweet tooth in check, I can’t resist a gluten-free treat. I’ve been living with T1D since I was a little over two, and I know it helps to have some support when dealing with the ups and downs.

Heather

Location: Downeyville, ON
Areas of Study: Teacher Education, Indigenous Studies, Bachelor of Arts
Years Living with Diabetes: 6 years

Hobbies/Interests: Writing/singing songs, playing piano and guitar, biking and going for walks, watching comedies, painting, and reading.

Statement: Hi! I love everything to do with music, and I’m always open to new recommendations. If I’m not writing songs or listening to soundtracks from movies/musicals, I’ll probably be taking hikes or walks around Trent University. When I graduate, I hope to teach in BC or somewhere internationally. I was 12 years old when I was diagnosed with type 1, and after 6 years, I quickly learned that diabetes isn’t something that has to hold anyone back from their passions. I learned a lot from members of my community who also have type 1 diabetes, and I’d love to be that person and source of support for someone else.

Heather C.

Location: Toronto, ON
Areas of Study: French, Biology, Human Resources
Years Living with Diabetes: 17 years

Hobbies/Interests: Baking and decorating cookies and cakes, board and other group games, and travelling.

Statement: I am a bubbly personality with a quirky weirdness. My hobby projects currently include perfecting my watercolour skills, raising my fur baby and fish, and making the world’s best brownies. I love exploring new places and trying new foods, as there is always something new to discover! This program is an amazing initiative and helps build a community of support and connection that helped me thrive and learn to love my diabetes. I love meeting new people and talking about everything and nothing; I can’t wait to meet!

Kristin H.

Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Areas of Study: Child and Youth Care, Education, Mental Health, Autism
Years Living with Diabetes: 21 years

Hobbies/Interests: Sports & Fitness, Cooking, Reading, Poetry, Music, Social Media, Colouring, Puzzles & Games, People, Learning, Volunteering, Spending time with Family and Friends.

Statement: Hello and welcome, I look forward to hopefully becoming your men-tor and talking with you about all things diabetes as well as things to do with anything else you’d enjoy. Talk soon ☺

Lindsay N.

Location: St. Catharines, ON
Areas of Study: Medical Sciences and Aging
Years Living with Diabetes: 14 years

Hobbies/Interests: Powerlifting, hiking, roller skating, baking, and currently learning French.

Statement: I love to learn and to share my experiences! I am 23 years old, currently pursuing a master’s degree and learning French to bring my travel manifestations to life. I love being active and I know how challenging it can be with diabetes, so I find that it’s super important to take the time and enjoy that breath of fresh air. I enjoy being a mentor to encourage and support others to be able to explore their hobbies and interests without letting diabetes stop them.You are truly capable of anything you set your mind to!

Maya

Location: Ottawa, ON
Areas of Study: Health Sciences, Biology
Years Living with Diabetes: 18 years

Hobbies/Interests: Science, sewing and fashion, cooking, baking, exercising and being outdoors, travel, TV and movies, music.

Statement: I graduated from health science at Western University last year and I am now working in research and public health. I love to spend my free time with friends, family, walking my dog, snowboarding, sewing and trying out new vegan/vegetarian recipes! I wish I had taken advantage of programs like this when I was younger so I’m really excited to get the chance to support others. Family and friends can be a great support but sometimes it helps to talk to someone who knows exactly what you’re going through!

Nethmi

Location: Toronto, ON
Areas of Study: Health Sciences
Years Living with Diabetes: 5 years

Hobbies/Interests: Performing, arranging and writing music, listening to music (live or recorded), hiking, research, travelling, cooking and baking, watching movies and TV shows, and trying new things!

Statement: I’m always exploring anything and all things related to music. Living with diabetes is no easy feat, but it has taught me so much about embracing originality and fostering resilience through support and courage. I am so utterly grateful for all of the support, feeling of belonging, and strength I have gained from wonderful people, friends, family, and the DHF. Throughout the years and through building community I have recognized the immense potential we have, and diabetes does not have to hinder us from reaching its fullest! I would love to be a welcoming source of support for someone else to help them share and develop their own, original story.

Ruby

Location: North Bay, ON
Areas of Study: Mathematics, Chemistry, Education
Years Living with Diabetes: 8 years

Hobbies/Interests: All things sports, my favourite is hockey, also hiking, scrapbooking, watching tv, hanging out with my family and friends, and baking.

Statement: I am a first year university student juggling a social life, sports, and my studies. Becoming a mentor was a no brainer for me as I’ve experienced the highs and lows of type one diabetes first hand. Having the opportunity to be there for someone else experiencing similar struggles and offering my support is the perfect way to give back to the diabetes community. If I’m not doing something sporty I’m likely baking the best gluten free cookies with my family or friends or watching a movie! That just about sums me up perfectly!

Scotia

Location: Vancouver, BC
Areas of Study: Psychology, Therapy
Years Living with Diabetes: 11 years

Hobbies/Interests: Outdoor adventure sports, road cycling/triathlon, baking, avid audiobook listener.

Statement: I grew up in Hamilton, Ontario, and attended Trent University where I completed my undergrad in Conservation Biology. I decided to move out to BC for my next adventure! For the past three years, I have lived in Fernie, Nanaimo, and now Vancouver BC. I currently find myself working for the Department of Fisheries and Oceans, and I am enjoying working with and learning more about BC’s Pacific salmon. In my downtime I love to bake celiac-friendly gluten-free desserts, and you can always find me with an audiobook on the go!

Simarbir

Location: Newmarket, ON
Areas of Study: Life Sciences
Years Living with Diabetes: 18 years

Hobbies/Interests: Watching movies and TV shows, reading, crochet, travel and running.

Statement:  I’m a huge movie and book fanatic! My favourite book is Six of Crows and myall-time favourite movie is How to Train Your Dragon. I love going to new places and trying new foods. I never thought I would like to exercise but I started running and couldn’t stop. I hope I get to run a marathon one day. I’m not going to lie though most of my time is spent listening to music and crafting. I look forward to meeting you all!

Tasfia

Location: Toronto, ON
Areas of Study: Psychological and Health Sciences
Years Living with Diabetes: 15 years

Hobbies/Interests: Reading, road trips, foreign media (Kdramas), finding the best way to cook a simple dish and a special love for learning new languages!

Statement: Hi! I’m 18, but I like describing myself as a 5 year old and a
50 year old crammed into one soul. Whether you need wisdom or a laugh, a conversation with me usually involves both! I like traveling with family and being in nature, and I’m an avid believer that the journey is often more beautiful than the destination. DHF has introduced me to a large community of T1D’s and it’s the best thing ever having a mentor and friends who can guide and support me , which is why I would love to be that person for someone else!

PEER SUPPORT PROGRAM

Register Online for the Program